Review: Majolica Majorica Perfect Automatic Liner

I’ve had this eyeliner for over a year now, but I’ve only recently started using it a lot. I thought it was hard to use and I preferred using gel over this one, but now that the gel one is starting to dry out, I’ve started using this one, and its much quicker and easier, it turns out.

DSC_0530The Majolica Majorica Perfect Automatic liner (in black) is a liquid liner with a brush tip. Before using the brush will be dry, so you shake it a little, and twist the end. I do about 3 clicks, and the liquid comes out the brush tip. This keeps the liner hygienic, because the liquid won’t be left out in the air for long periods of time, which promotes bacteria growth.

The brush tip allows you to line your eyes easily, but its not so great if you want really thin lines. For me, this is the perfect brush size, and it gives the liner look that I like. I actually like that the brush size is not too thin, because it allows me to do my liner quicker and easier. For the most part, this is a great liner, and I will repurchase if I ever run out. I don’t know how much is left, but it’s still going strong.

DSC_0473The one thing I don’t like about this liner is the amount it dispenses. When I do two clicks, the brush is still dry, but on my third, a whole lump of liquid comes out the end. When I was a noob in liquid liner I tried using the liner like this, and make a mess on my eyes. Now I know better, I wipe away the droplet on a tissue before applying. When using liquid liner, you don’t want it to be too wet, or it will smudge around the eyes. I line with my eye closed, and if its not dry when I open my eye, it will mess it up because my eye creases close to where I put liner. So I actually have to wipe quite a bit of liner every time, which is a waste.

Apart from this droplet issue, I love this liner. Its the only liquid liner I’ve used, so I can’t really compare, but its good enough for me. Its so much faster than gel, and the blackness is about the same. With gel, I have to dip my brush about 5 or 6 times for each eye, which takes 3 times as long. Also, with gel liner, it sometimes smudges onto my lower lid during the day and gives me panda eyes. With this liquid liner, when you rub your eyes or anything, the liner flakes away, leaving the eye area clean. No smudgy panda eyes.

Pros:

  • Easy, quick to apply
  • No worrying about panda eyes, no checking in the mirror every hour
  • Hygienic
  • Won’t dry out even if you don’t use for a long time
  • Very black, very defined line
  • The brush doesn’t lose its shape

Cons:

  • Dispenses too much product which is wasted
  • Can’t tell how much is left (typical for all liquid liners)

I really like this liner, so I’ll give it a 9/10. If I had to use this and only this for the rest of my life I wouldn’t be sad. =)

Leave a Reply

