Buttons

Buttons.

This button fell of my coat the other day. I was meaning to sew it back on but never had the chance or motivation. Luckily it was from one of the pockets, so I’m not really bothered by it.

The funny thing is, from the same coat, I have a mismatched button on the left sleeve. I lost that button last winter, and I used a spare button from another jacket to replace it. That button I could not ignore, because it holds the cuff of the sleeve together, and without it, it would just not function. Fortunately unless you were looking really closely, I don’t think you would notice that the button on my left cuff is different from the one on the right. And personally, I don’t really mind having a unique coat.

So, here is my thought on buttons:

Even if they look identical, some buttons are more important than others. Look after your buttons! You don’t want to be the person who has no buttons on their shirt! Mismatched buttons are better than no buttons at all!

– iki0o

