Getting a job

Some things I learnt along the way:

  • It is better to write one or two good cover letters, and use the same one for many positions, rather than try to write perfectly tailored cover letters to each job. You will spend less time this way and be able to apply to more.
  • Try not to be picky. I basically applied to every thing I could, even if they specify that they want other disciplines. They don’t really care most of the time if you have the right skills, and you can always be picky after you can afford to.
  • Try to exaggerate or enhance things written in your resume. You can lie too, its not like they will check up on it. Eg. if you got 5th place in a competition just say u got 2nd.
  • Don’t expect the first few interviews to be good. I had embarrassing moments when I couldn’t answer the questions on the spot, and I literally said “I can’t think of anything”, but after the interview I always can think of what I should have said. The next time I get asked something similar I’ll remember it.
  • Don’t walk into an interview empty handed. If anything, just bring a folder with the resume and cover letter for that position.
  • Try not to fall asleep and look interested when the interviewer is blabbing on about the company. Maybe think of questions to ask at the end.
  • Talk in formal English and don’t sound like a dumb teenager.

Obviously, I’m not an expert in this. But I didn’t want my months of sweat and tears to go to waste, so I thought I’d just write about my experience.

Leave a Reply

