1 Year on WordPress!

So I opened up my WordPress site this morning and got a notification – its my 1st anniversary with WordPress! How exciting. I want to take this day to do a kind of diary style post and look at the year that has past, as a kind of reflection for the year 2012.

I started 2012 in my third year of university, and I ended this year working in a student engineer position. I still have one more year of university to go, after I end my internship, but I have learnt a lot more outside school. School teaches you the in-depth and the theory, but only a few are useful to the work in industry. Over the past half year when I was working, I maybe used 5 equations. And I didn’t have to memorize any, either. There are information in tables and charts that you look up, and find the information you need. When that fails, you go on Google and type in what you are looking for. Its all about knowing where to look, not remembering what you learnt.

I wrote, edited, and published a magazine for a school club I am in. I liked the experience of working with visual graphics and page layouts, a little like a blog. Currently, I am working on the second issue of the year – hopefully it will be completed within the first few months of 2013. I like reading magazines, there are lovely pictures and articles, but I don’t like it when gossip magazines starts to tear someone’s life apart. Sometimes, I read gossip or news articles about a certain person, but that’s when I admire them and want to know more about them as a person, and not because I want to see unfortunate pictures of sweaty armpits or sometime stuck in their teeth.

I bought my first DSLR camera this year – the Nikon D5100. Its a entry level camera, but I am still trying to learn photography skills and how to operate the camera to its full potential. I’ve done some research on lenses, but I won’t allow myself to purchase a new one before I’ve learnt how to use them properly. I’ve looked at taking photography classes but it seems like they require you to already have bought professional grade lenses. I’m most interested in portraiture photography, not the boring family pictures or headshots, but pictures with a model in a interesting background. I think photography can capture many representations of a person, and I’d like to be able to go on a photoshoot and take beautiful pictures of the models.

I moved into a new apartment / condo. I move at the end of every school year, and this time I moved back with my brother after living with 2 girls for a year. I love this place – its spacy, its stylish with its white walls and beige curtains, it has a beautiful view outside exterior walls entirely made of glass. My old place was older, less clean, and I didn’t connect with my roomates. Now I am living with my brother, which is nice in a way, because I can be myself and and not have to care if my roomates are using the kitchen, or if I come home late I don’t have to worry about disturbing them. The only thing I have a problem with is the distance from work. I have to travel on the subway & bus 2 hours every day (1 hour each way), and this results in my having to wake up at 7:30 and get home at 6pm. My brother is nice to live with most of the time – he cooks and keeps his place clean. But he still does mean things – he is my brother afterall.

I bought a new laptop and a external monitor thats nice and big. The laptop had nice specs and wasn’t too pricey, but I had many issues with it – such as sudden freezes and the internet always disconnecting every hour or so. In my free time I will be either watching movies/tv shows, youtube, or playing skyrim /league of legends. This really sums up what I do. I’ve had much more time this year, even with full time work, because after work I have no assignments, and have all the time to myself.

I’ve bought quite a number of makeup items this year. I think I’m at that point where I really don’t need to buy anymore. I still don’t wear makeup everyday – only when I have time to get ready and when I’m not wearing glasses. I can only wear contacts for like 6 hrs before it gets uncomfortable, so really any day I have to work or go to school is a no makeup day.

There are still so many things I can talk about. But overall, 2012 has been a year of new experiences, growing up, discovering my passions, and working towards my future. It’s been a great year and has gone by so quickly. I feel like I’ll be 30 in no time at all. Which I don’t want! I want my youth, and that feeling I have my whole life ahead of me to become whoever I want. It’s as if that opportunity to change who I am is almost coming to an end – this is who I am now and who I will have to be for the rest of my life.

DSC_0086

 

Leave a Reply

