Recent makeup / beauty purchases

DSC_0421

 

From left to right (with a mini “first impressions” review):

  1. Covergirl lip perfection jumbo gloss balm – 215 “watermelon twist”
    I’ve been looking to try these jumbo lip sticks for a while – decided to try this one because i liked the name (watermelon). The colour is nice, but its not very hydrating and feels dry quickly. Smells like old lipsticks (not a smell I like). I like the twist up application though. 3/5. 
  2. Loreal nail colour – 530 “now you sea me”
    I wanted some nice bright pastel spring colours for my nails, and this was the best I could find. Its a very nice ocean blue, and achieves about 70% opacity with one coat. Which is fine, because sometimes I don’t like having a too strong nail colour. 4.5/5.
  3. Too Faced Shadow Insurance primer
    Again something I’ve been planning to buy for a while. I picked up this one while I was at new york for $20, which is a few dollars cheaper than here in Canada. From reviews I decided to get this over the Urban Decay Primer Potion, but no one mentioned the smell! I thought I got a defective one, because when I put this primer on my eye I smelt this nasty fishy smell. I even went so far as to bringing it back to Sephora to exchange, but when I smelt the other ones, they were all the same. The oil in the primer also separates slightly. Performance-wise, however, the Too Faced primer was really good. 4/5, but I’m getting the UDPP next time.
  4. Revlon Lip Butter – 090 “sweet tart”
    I love these lip butters, but I can never seem to pick out the right colour. The first one I got (strawberry shortcake) was too light of a pink and looked weird on me, the second (pink truffle) was too brown, and I think I got it right with this one. Its a very very bright pink, similar to the Covergirl watermelon twist. 4.5/5.
  5. Wet n wild Color Icon – 738 Comfort Zone
    This is my second and last makeup item from New York – it was like $5, which is super cheap if you come from Canada. I know they sell wet n wild in Walmart and stuff, but I’ve never seen them, so I decided to get it. I’ve seen people on youtube use this and talk about it, so I thought I’d try it out. The eyeshadow is really really good – very pigmented and soft. Only minor complaint I have it the colours they put together. I wish they had more neutral colours since it is a “comfort zone” palette, but performance-wise, it is very good. 4/5.

Some close ups – I know the colours are off, theres not enough light here and I’m using a yellow lamp:

DSC_0425 DSC_0428

3 thoughts on “Recent makeup / beauty purchases”

  1. I have one of the Wet n’ Wild palettes, and it’s actually pretty nice for the price. It’s got a good pigmentation to it. Everyone is talking about the Revlon lip butters, but I haven’t gotten a chance to pick one up yet.

  2. The wrong use of electric toothbrush can damage your gums, so
    it is very important to use it correctly. If many people would be using the
    new automatic teeth-brushing device, then the batteries
    might require extra charging in the course of the month.
    Every time my parents will ask me if I brushed my teeth before going to bed I would always say yes even if I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

