My new ereader!

DSC_0447DSC_0451  DSC_0449

 

I got a ereader for my birthday!!! This is the exact one I would have bought for myself – I tested a few out at Bestbuy and the Sony one is definitely the best. Apart from the Kindle. But then no retail shops actually sells kindles, you have to buy direct from Amazon. I like this one because the screen is a decent size, there are actual page turn buttons that don’t look ridiculous, and its red!

Apart from the five physical buttons at the bottom of the screen, there is a power button and the lower edge. Pressing “off” doesn’t really turn the display off, it just freezes the reader on the first page / cover of the ebook. I thought it was weird at first, but it turns out that displaying the text doesn’t use up any power – only turning pages will. So a permanent display like the book cover doesn’t use up the power supposedly. Kind of weird but I guess thats the “e-ink” stuff.

Then the actual program to load books onto the ereader –

rettre

 

Its a simple program but its not exactly elegant. The auto sync just doesn’t work for some reason. I have to manually go into the reader and sync – just like iTunes. I suppose its not too important, since its just for loading books, but its all part of the Sony ereader experience so I think they should improve on it. For one thing, the free Harry Potter book that supposedly came with the purchase of the ereader is impossible to download, possibly because of the website’s incompatibility with google chrome. Which is stupid because chrome is quite a popular browser…

I was already reading a paperback book (The Dark Elite series by Chloe Neill), so I only just started reading from the ereader today. I have to say, its much lighter and less chunky to carry around! I normally have about an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening during my commute to / from work. So the ereader is perfect for that slot of time when I have nothing else to do. I’ve just started a new book today – Angelfall by Susan Ee (recommended by Michelle Phan). I’ve read maybe 2 chapters? But its a really good read. It jumps into the story quickly, which I like. Can’t wait to read more of it!

Oh and I do plan on getting a cute cover for the reader, don’t want it getting all scratched up. =)

Leave a Reply

