DIY: De-potting eyeshadows

Looking at my mess of eyeshadow quads, I decided impulsively to depot them into one big palette. I bought some z-palettes online (from FTB beauty), and they should be here in a few days. Anyway, I looked up some methods for depotting, and I wanted to stay away from the ones involving fire or heat because I know I will do something stupid.

DSC_0365

So I went with the knife method. Basically, you use a knife to try and lift the eyeshadows out of the plastic casing. Jabbing the corners of the pan will loosen the glue, and you should be able to take the eyeshadow pan out easily. From my experience, some brands put more glue than others, and some are easier to depot than others. Just be careful not to stab the eyeshadow itself. I did.

DSC_0366

For single eyeshadows, the pan usually has a small hole at the back, because they predicted you would depot them. So just use a paperclip or something that fits in the hole to poke the eyeshadow pan out. Shouldn’t be too hard. I actually used the knife from the top because I didn’t know there was a hole. Noobs.

DSC_0357

Here are the ones I depotted today. As you can see, the knife did slip and cause some holes in the eyeshadow. Didn’t stab myself though, so I call it a good day/ Also, if theres a lot of glue stuck to the bottom of the pan, you should clean that off. I just scraped it off with a tissue.

DSC_0361

For some reason, the Wet n Wild eyeshadows didnt work with the knife method. I read somewhere that they don’t use metal for the pans, so when I tried to lift it out, it just buckled. I’m not too sad because this palette cost like $5 but maybe try gently to see if it will deform the pan, or do some research on which brands use metal and which brands don’t.

For these non-metal pans, i think the only way is to melt the plastic from underneath to soften it and poke the pan out.

Depotting eyeshadows is surprisingly fulfilling. I like arranging them into one big collection in a palette rather than have several quads in my drawer.

Leave a Reply

